Not A Planned Child

Posted: April 6, 2015 in poetry

English lyrics to the song:
“Ich bin kein Wunschkind”
by German singer and composer
Rolf Zuckowski

Four-months-foetus-001

I’m not a planned child
and still so much I’d like to live,
no planned child
but it is life that you will give.
Mamma, thank you so,
hand in hand into the future now we’ll go.

I’m not a planned child,
and still you have though chosen me,
no planned child,
and this big world I now will see.
Mamma, feel my heart,
you and I’ll go on to an amazing start.

In just a few years I will be grown,
and for now the two of us won’t be alone.
In just a few years they all will see,
how far we’ve come on our road both you and me.

I’m not a planned child
so what, what does that really mean?
no planned child,
that’s what so many once have been
Mamma you and I,
we’ve got each other and the best is what we’ll try

I’m not a planned child,
and though I still feel safe with you,
no planned child,
and day by day we will go through.
Mamma, you and I,
sometimes we’ll laugh and sometimes we will cry

In just a few years I will be grown,
and so for now the two of us won’t be alone,
in just a few years they all will see
how far we’ve come on our road both you and me

You did not take the easy way,
my heart inside you made you think
that I would say:

Though not a planned child
still I would love to live,
no planned child
still have so much to give.
Mama, look at me,
from now on we both should see it differently:

I am a loved child
for you have chosen me,
a loved child,
we can live happily.
Mamma feel my heart,
you and I’ll go on to an amazing start.

I am a loved child…a loved child

loved child

Leave a Reply

