Do you have to?

Posted: August 28, 2013 in poetry

a knife

I have bonds and gold
I can be bold
booms and busts I make
markets and people I break
whole countries’ economies too
that’s what I can do!
But someone asks:
Do you have to?
Yes,
he says
I do what I can
for I’m a financial man.

I have bombs and planes
to destroy cars and trains
every man I can kill
whenever I will
flatten whole cities too,
that’s what I can do!
But someone asks:
Do you have to?
Yes,
he says
I do, what I can
for I’m a military man

I can clone
flesh and bone
and that’s not the least
can cross man with beast
make any deadly virus too
that’s what I can do!
But someone asks:
do you have to?
Yes,
he says
I do, what I can
for I’m a scientist man

In my hand I hold a knife
it can terminate your life,
your hubris has made you an easy prey
you could cross my path now any day
the knife in my hand can kill and destroy, too
But someone asks:
do you have to?
Calm and slow
he says no,
I do not do what I can
for I’m a God-fearing man

Leave a Reply

