The Gal of Mediocrity

Posted: August 10, 2013 in poetry

Only few things I do well
Most I do will appall
those who judge
with a grudge.
Again and again
whatever my strain
they say rough
not good enough, not good enough.
All in me they will see
is a gal of mediocrity.

I’m a small and clumsy child
and certainly I´m not wild
I form letter upon letter
trying to do better
but pulling out his belt
how painful it felt
when Papa says rough
not good enough, not good enough.
Sadly what he
ever can see
is the gal of mediocrity

Doing my part
right from the start
running so hard,
but I´m not smart
running out of breath
it nearly feels like death
still the teacher says rough
not good enough, not good enough.
What she can see
is the gal of mediocrity

Moving my hands
until all time ends
no one mercy lends
I´m not among friends,
faster and faster I go
but still too slow.
They keep telling me rough
not good enough, not good enough.
All of me they can see
is the gal of mediocrity.

But there is one above me
Who knows perfectly
what those others can’t see
He has entered my heart
right from the start
my burden He shares
because He cares
He never talks rough
says you’re good enough, you’re good enough
Forever He will love me
the gal of mediocrity.

Comments
  1. […] The Gal of Mediocrity (evehuman2013.wordpress.com) […]

    • evehuman2013 says:

      The owner of that site had most likely not read the poem, He probably clicked on an automatically produced link. But I’m glad he did, for his site is exactly what I’m opposing here, the constant drum beat, that you must be excellent, trying your best or being average is not good enough. The poem came to me, when I thought how often I’ve been discouraged in life, giving up nearly before even having started, although I would have so much liked to do certain things. But I had become my own worst critic, until I realized the standards of excellence set by others – or myself for that matter – are a lot of crock. Doing is better than not doing, whenever I put my love and soul into it. So what, if it turns out mediocre for somebody else’s taste. At the moment I’m ready to declare that I’m proud to be “the gal of mediocrity”

  2. This a great poem Eve, it is sad yet ends hopeful. Very well done.

Leave a Reply

