For those who die

Posted: August 1, 2013 in poetry
Tags: , , , ,

I imagined this as a song for the Icelandic  “Idol” contest to provoke the judges. Of course I was far too chicken to actually show up and try it out.

singing-bird

I could sing like a bird in the sky
but I won’t and I will tell you why
in a culture so shallow
I do not want to wallow
since I rather want to cry
for those who die
I could write about action and love
to make a million or above
but I write about the scourge of war
and about the bloody star
the soldier receives after battle
where he had shot like cattle
those for whom I want to cry
those who die

palestinian_children_killed_by_israeli_fire_in_gaza__file_2007

Comments
  1. kdavisfanclub says:

    heartbreaking

Leave a Reply

